Top 5 Reasons To Love American Horror Story

Image

American Horror Story is the ideal television series for people that have a wild imagination with a wicked twist. Season 3 – Coven is already wrapped and they are currently finishing Season 4 – Carnival. Just the title in itself leaves me undoubtedly excited, and curiously pondering how they will be scaring the hell out of me. The show at first wasn’t as well known as some of the others currently running but now it’s considered one of the best in the game. I find it incredibly addicting, and very suspenseful. At certain times sweet, but still having a bitter bite.

For those of you who have never seen it (which I just cannot believe!), I am going to give you five reasons to love it. For many of you who have seen it and watch it faithfully every time it airs, I am going to give you some more reasons why you couldn’t stop watching if you tried.

1. Awesome Characters

These are not just your run-of-the-mill creepy teacher, or suspicious neighbor. The characters written into this series are epic. Not only because they are in some ways relatable, but they take crazy and put a spin on it. From sultry “maid” vixens, a possessed Nun and witches, to a crazed murderer of women and a lady pregnant with the devils spawn, you will find it hard to keep your head from spinning. But in a good way because it keeps you guessing. The whole plan of continuously guessing is what brings me to my next reason…

2. New Storylines

I love the idea that every season is something different, while still maintaining some of the star characters from the previous episodes. I wasn’t a big fan of Coven which involved witches and magic. I found it rather typical and a little disappointing. I was however completely obsessed with the first and second seasons. Which revolved around a haunted murder house and an insane asylum. Yes, I did buy both of them on DVD and have watched them numerous times. Don’t judge me.

3. Pushes Boundaries

I will never forget my initial reaction to the first episode. I saw the advertisements and with myself being a fan of all things abnormal and creepy I thought that it would be just that. It was that and more… Within a mere half hour of the premiere there was a man having sex with his student, getting down with Susie Palmer (ya know what I mean), and a suicidal patient talking about not being able to get an errection.  All I was thinking was I can’t believe this is on t.v but I wanted to see more. Whether people admit it or not sex always seals the deal, in more ways than one. I applaud the idea of throwing it in the first episode and keeping the risqué moments consistent. It made me curious but that wasn’t what got me hooked.

4. Gruesome and Dark

This is why I became and addict. It would probably appear that I am some sicko to people who are not the scary/gory kind of types. I cannot get enough of the way the show dives into the dark spaces people are afraid to confront. It shows first hand everyday people and serial killers most creepy thoughts and actions. Though the show is entirely fiction a frightening reality is very much present. You may think you know someone, it could be your closest friend or even a parent. But do you really know them? That same person could be putting on a mask made from human flesh and going on a killing spree. Or they could be attending a late night ritual with human sacrifices. They could also just be someone who is completely crazy. This is what scary dreams are made of, taking people and making them into the worst kind of monsters. This show does that and then some.

5. Jessica Lange and Evan Peters

Jessica Lange has played an aged starlet neighbor with many skeletons in her closet, a recovering alcoholic Nun turned insane patient, and a power hungry backstabbing witch. She has brought so much life into those characters and made the show way more interesting. I love this woman and believe she is the face of the series. She has recently stated that she will be leaving after Carnival to pursue different passions in her life. I don’t blame her. If you’re going to leave, leave while you’re on top. It’s better to leave than to fade away. But I will miss her and find it hard to accept another main character in her place.

Now last but most definitely not least, Evan Peters. I wish I could say I know him, and almost feel like I do as much as I have watched (and re-watched) the show. Sadly I don’t.. He is another big part of this series. He has been a troubled apparition, a man wrongly accused of murder, and a boy stitched back together and brought back to life. All in which has captured my heart. In all of these characters there is raw feeling, and something deeply touching. I almost always find myself sympathizing and being on his team. Even if he killed some people and impregnated somebodies wife. It’s okay! Besides the obvious fact that he is easy on the eyes and the show heartthrob, he has talent. Which makes him even more desirable to female fans.

I hope you all enjoyed my reasons to love American Horror Story, and tune in when it airs again this October it should be spectacular!Saying that I am just excited is an understatement.  

Oh, and Evan if you ever see this I would love to meet you. I have a bunch of your pictures on my Pinterest and I follow you on Twitter. I am a big fan.

That doesn’t creep you out does it? That’s pretty normal.

It’s not like I have a doll with your face on it that I sleep with at night or anything….. or do I?

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Reasons To Love American Horror Story

      • lifelifedeathdeath says:

        Okay! I have only seen one and a half season of True Blood. I love it. But this was years ago. Maybe I will pick it up after Ive seen season 1,2,3 of American Horror Story.

        Is True Blood still runnning btw?

Leave a Reply

