Ready for Baby

Image

Lately it seems I can’t get on to my social media accounts without seeing children. My newsfeeds are overflowing with what Jimmy ate today, and how many times Susie smiled. This in some cases make many people angry, which results in an all out social uproar. I have seen firsthand the pictures that excited parents, who are sharing the most intimate moments with their children, are posting. I see them everyday, even by people whom I don’t personally know. But I am not the person who gets mad or even goes on an infamous unfriending spree. I am the one who “likes” such posts, and leaves encouraging comments from time to time. These pictures bring a smile to my face at many different times of the day. 

Sure we were all the annoyed on-looker to some extent at certain point in our lives. When all we were interested in seeing was a little Facebook drama, and a drunk picture every now and then, not all the babies. Which made me come to a conclusion about myself. I am ready for a baby… I know this because I am overjoyed to see all of the little faces everyday. I am more interested in what they are doing than the skanky girl I went to high school with. I have finally 100% made the turn into adulthood for many reasons.

I am 25…Yes it is true. Five years from 30 and three years married. Time sure flies when you’re having fun.

My friends all have babies… Besides the two I know for a fact aren’t pregnant. Unless they are hiding a baby bump under some baggy sweaters!? Most of my friends either have a child or are expecting. Taking it past my personal friends circle and stretching to some people I went to school with its a full on baby boom! Either everyone is drinking some special bottled water from Walmart, or there are many fertile myrtles. It is rather refreshing to see so many bundles of joy resulting from happiness and loving relationships. I love the fact that my friends have babies because I get to experience the intoxicating innocence, and wonder of children. It is well known that years from now when the terrible twos set in that they will be destroying your things and making messes. But let us relish in the newborn moment while we have it shall we? I don’t need to worry about said moments because I don’t have a baby yet…But I do wonder, where is mine?

Biological Clock…These words have been engraved into women’s heads since the dawn of time. I too (with being 25 hmm) have thrown these words around. But I have come to realize it’s not that annoying clock that society warns me about that’s ticking. As a matter of fact I don’t consider a clock in my equation at all.

For me it’s a different sense of time.

When the timing is right. But that is not for me, or some biological clock to decide. Those decisions lie in the hands of someone more powerful than I. I can take Prenatals until I’m blue in the face but even then He can hold out. With seeing everyone’s babies I was getting anxious for one of my own. Then anxiety grew into a minimal amount of sadness. That was when a very good friend of mine said exactly what I needed to hear. Just five words that changed every thought in my head, ” It’s not your time yet.” With that I knew that I can’t decide when that will be so why should I worry. I am not pregnant yet for a reason and when my time is right it will happen. I shouldn’t worry about everyone else’s “timing” because we all don’t run on the same clock.

Growing up…This had a lot to do with all my above statements. I am happy to see babies in my newsfeeds because I want one of my own. I am more interested in them now than years before because I am at that stage in life. I want the responsibility, love, and companionship of a child because that’s where I am at emotionally as well. That is the last piece of my puzzle to complete my already happy marriage and existence. First comes love, then comes marriage, then comes whoever with a baby carriage. 🙂

So to all the young parents posting your pictures, please continue to do so. Do it for people like me whose time isn’t quite here yet. Also for the people that may get slightly annoyed, not because they need a baby, but because seeing such things bring us all a peace of mind. Whether we care to admit or not. It also fills us with hope, that these little people will someday grow to make the world a better place.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Ready for Baby

  1. Connie Cieker says:

    Very well said Tabby, It is Gods will to decide when it is your time to be blessed with the joy of a child and when that comes you will be a great parent. Love Aunt Connie

Leave a Reply

