Stepping Out Of The Zone

I am a person who loves routine and schedules.
I have 3 planners, 2 calendars, and one book called Planned to Perfection. No I’m not kidding.

I also get up everyday and have the same breakfast. Eggs, toast and a V8 energy infused of course.

So, stepping out of what is normal for me is not my favorite, and also makes me incredibly nervous. Sometimes doing it though is rewarding.

A couple of weekends ago I hosted a book and poetry reading at a local coffee house in Wooster Ohio. I will admit that I almost canceled, I was beside myself with nervousness as this was unusual for me to speak in front of people.
I’m a personable chick and a talker, but put me in front of others, alone…

I took a giant leap of faith (and drank a lot of caffeine) and found myself standing in a busy atmosphere with all eyes on me . ๐Ÿ™‚

It wasn’t as bad as I envisioned and I made some awesome connections with fellow creatives.
The owner is a published author with McGraw Hill company and the other owner (her husband) is a musician who wants me to lend a hand in possibly writing music. There is also talk of a writers group in the works.

Stepping out of the zone was worth it for me. I advise you to do the same. Even if it’s as simple as changing your routines, sharing your works with others, or even walking up and striking up a conversation with a stranger. I’ve gotten excellent at that because after the first attempts the awkwardness and worry dissipates. Then when they walk away you won’t be afraid to chase them… Yes I have chased people and it doesn’t bother me anymore ๐Ÿ™‚

DO IT! The first steps will turn to sprinting, then to running, and then well, you’re well on your way to greatness.

IMG_3674.JPG

Leave a Reply

