What If I Fall? Oh, My Darling, What If You Fly?

squirrel

While I’m sitting at my desk drinking my cup of Twining’s tea thinking about what my post will be for today, I happen to look out of my second story window to see a squirrel.

He seemed like just an ordinary critter.
I couldn’t help but watch him though because he was running up and down the same branches repeatedly. I had no idea what the hell the damn thing was doing so I was intrigued by its nonsense. As I’m staring out the window I realize that this thing has nowhere to go. It finally quit running back and forth and was daring to jump at this point. He placed himself right on the tip of the branch and sat contemplating his daring leap of faith.
I was worried for the squirrel because I didn’t think he was going to make such a long jump from the end of one flimsy tree branch to another tree. I was hoping that he wouldn’t fall and splatter the snow with his little acorn brains but it wouldn’t be the first time I’ve seen such things. Especially living in a wooded area with all sorts of animal shenanigans happening on a daily basis.

So anyways…

He went balls to the wall and jumped. Boy did that sucker fly. Despite my doubt he made it and scrambled up the branch going on about his day. I’m sure you’re wondering why I’m telling you about a squirrel and why the hell I watched it for so long.
Believe it or not, I related to the animal. I myself have been struggling with some things in life. It’s not the kind of struggle that’s detrimental to my well being but it is one that is equally frustrating. I have always been the kind of person who overanalyzes, but lately I’ve been someone who speculates and doubts.

The past 7 months I have been doing exactly what that dumb critter was doing, running back and forth on the same path exhausting myself while feeling I had no other options. It wasn’t until a week ago that I went on a whim and set in motion a new journey for myself. I found a solution, another path, another branch.

I certainly had some doubts, just like the squirrel did. I stood staring reality dead in the face and instead of continuing to run from it and make my life harder than it needed to be by going down the same monotonous way I jumped. To my own surprise I landed gracefully on the other side.

Of course I didn’t run off into the sunset like my little friend. I’m slowly (but surely) making my way down this new path but I know in time I will get where I finally am meant to be.

Life is full of opportunities. There are many doors we open and close without even realizing it. Whether it be something as simple as having a conversation with someone we haven’t seen in forever, or helping a person in need. These small connections that go overlooked are vital to our lives. There may be a time that they come into play when we desperately need them too.

When we are faced with the reality of any situation that is when we have the ability to choose for ourselves. WE control our fate to a certain extent and then we have to let go of the rest. Take a leap of faith. We can either stay on the same comfortable path knowing that there is no promise of results or be brave and venture in another direction we have never taken.

I’m happy I made the choices I have to bring me where I am today. Now I need to be patient and let it play out. I know good things are coming. I made the decision to jump. Not only in my career but in my personal matters. I AM A JUMPER. Are you?

2 thoughts on “What If I Fall? Oh, My Darling, What If You Fly?

  1. Luciana says:

    I love your writing style. I am an aspirant writer too. The title of this post touched me so much… I ‘d like to know how did you come up with it? Please, let me know.

    • tabby64 says:

      Thank so much! 🙂 I actually came up with it after seeing it on Pinterest. I really related to it on a personal level. Then saw the squirrel! Lol kind of ironic!

Leave a Reply

